The Kingfisher's Debt
Dark humour, darker magic...

What if the person who saved your life is about to frame you for murder?

The Kingfisher’s Debt Purchase via– Amazon Kindle | Goodreads | Book Depository

Magic isn't real, right..?

Within the small coastal city of Dunedin, local translator, Tamsin Fairchild has a reputation she hates. People think she’s psychic… Tamsin belongs to a hidden community of Witches, Faeries and Elementals.

Always hovering around and interfering in Tamsin’s life, part father-figure, part thorn in her side, Detective Jackson, is an old-school cop. Childhood friend to her deceased mother, Tamsin wonders could her mother have let an outsider in on the truth?

Newcomer, rookie cop Scott Gale is forced to team-up with Tamsin when they investigate the disappearance of a newborn baby and a bizarre crime scene—satanic ritual or hoax?

More and more the blame starts to point towards Tamsin…

Tamsin must uncover who’s framing her, find the baby before it’s too late, unravel the mystery behind her elder brother’s disappearance, and stop Scott from entering a world not meant for human eyes.

But Scott has family secrets of his own and Tamsin doesn’t know who to trust.

But can you trust Tamsin? What if the person who saved your life is about to frame you for murder?

Publisher: IFWG Australia

Read Sample Chapters of on Amazon

Read All the Reviews on Goodreads

Awards

Sir Julius Vogel Awards

SJV Full List of Awards

Sir Julius Vogel Awards - Best New Talent

The Kingfisher’s Debt is Kura Carpenter’s debut novel and very cleverly set in an Urban Fantasy world overlaying (or underlying, depending on your perspective) Dunedin, New Zealand. The writing is crisp, the plot excellently designed and executed. The work, I believe, clearly shows a writer who has taken the writing process seriously, from conception to drafting, to re-drafting, and producing a book that fits neatly into the Urban Fantasy genre while also having a strong Kiwi flavour.”

The Sir Julius Vogel Awards recognise excellence in Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror by New Zealanders.

Presented at the National Science Fiction convention each year, the Sir Julius Vogel Awards are administered by SFFANZ, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand Inc.

Reviews

Lesley McIntosh – Booksellers NZ

Tamsin Fairchild, thought to be a physic by local police, is called in to assist when the body of a baby is found at the Forsyth Bar Stadium in Dunedin. She teams up with Officer Scott Gale to examine the bizarre crime scene and they wonder is it a satanic ritual or hoax?

‘There wasn’t a spell painted on the body …..And there was no sacrifice. The baby was already dead, a preserved medical specimen.’

Kura Carpenter’s novel The Kingfisher’s Debt, unravels two storylines as it moves from the present day crime and another mystery disappearance during the summer twelve years ago.

The story weaves through layers, starting with alternating chapters of past and present running in parallel, with the reader learning about the Fair Folk of Dunedin, their Elemental rivals and their darkly exciting half-hidden world.

Lesley McIntosh – Booksellers NZ blog

Read Lesley's Full Review

"Carpenter’s crisp descriptive writing is delightful"

"fantasy elements skillfully interwoven throughout, adding more intrigue and mystery to the plot, and keeping me guessing to the end"

Rachel Stedman – Scoop Review of Books

It’s been a long time since I’ve read such an engrossing urban fantasy. This wonderfully written story is sure to appeal to fans of Ben Aaranovitch, Brendon Sanderson or Maggie Stiefvater.

As the story unfolds, the reader gradually learns about the Fair Folk of the Dunedin, their Elemental rivals, and their darkly exciting, half-hidden world. Initially, the story comes across as an who-dunnit starring snarky Tamsin, but as the plot unfolds a deeper tale emerges, of plotting and betrayal and forbidden Bloodmagic.

The story moves skillfully from present day to past, without losing the reader in the narrative. Time-hopping is a difficult technique to pull off, as there’s a good chance you’ll risk slowing the plot or confusing the reader – so kudos to Carpenter for managing it in a debut novel.

 
 

Rachel Stedman – Scoop Review of Books Blog

Read Rachel's Full Review

"the heart of the story is redemption and some fine, fine writing.

I've just bought the hard copy so I can read it again!"

The Kingfisher’s Debt Purchase via– Amazon Kindle | Goodreads | Book Depository

5/5

"Many layers of complexity"

I totally love this book!

It had many layers of complexity plus being urban fantasy. I liked the writing a lot. In the beginning, I got a little confused about the setting but reading on it was all clear up and become really interesting.

A must-read in fantasy, a very creative way to read about fairies.

Fiorela – Goodreads - 5 stars

"A must-read in fantasy"

Paperback of The Kiingfisher's Debt
5/5

Great characters, challenging plot and a terrific story.

I’m thoroughly enjoying this book.

If you like your humour as dry as your gin, you’ll love this.

Cracking dialogue, and a story that keeps its secrets when it should.

Kay – Goodreads - 4 stars

"Love a book with a badass chick as the main character"

5/5

Cracking Dialogue

Great New Zealand flavour, magic, mayhem and mustangs.

I love this book by the talented Kura Carpenter so much. Great New Zealand flavour, magic, mayhem and mustang’s. I also love a book with a badass chick as the main character. I always think a book is great if I don’t want to leave the world it created when I’ve finished it. This definitely fits.

I would love to immerse myself in this world again for other stories. Get writing please Kura!

Anna – Goodreads - 5 stars

"With clever re-imagining of witches as gang members, "

5/5

"magic as the drug for sale, and poetic touches of what lives look like on the line between good and evil, Kura brings us a touch of 'if only' in Aotearoa"

Read Piper's Review

5/5

Piper Mejia – SpecficNZ Blog

Of course Dunedin is the home of Fair Folk and Elementals in the middle of a never ending feud. Where else could they hide in plain sight among the lesser humans? Of course they are casting spells and causing trouble. Like any other notorious crim’ on the East Coast they have a reputation to uphold. Of course they expect the worst but hope for the best. With power comes responsibility.

Debut novel The Kingfisher’s Debt by Kura Carpenter, is an escape into the life of Tamsin Kingfisher as she helps to untangle a culture crossing crime while dealing with the issue of solstice messing up her magic. Woven throughout the novel is the heartache of her own Romeo and Juliet love story as well as her search for her missing beloved older brother. Tamsin adds nuance to the meaning of a busy working woman fulfilling family responsibility, hiding family secrets and getting the job done.

With clever re-imagining of witches as gang members, magic as the drug for sale, and poetic touches of what lives look like on the line between good and evil, Kura brings us a touch of ‘if only’ in Aotearoa. I can’t wait to read what happens next.

The Kingfisher’s Debt Purchase via– Amazon Kindle | Goodreads | Book Depository

"Vampires have totally been done. Fae are awesome."

5/5

"There are no wasted characters. Each character has a purpose in the plot."

“The protagonist was unusual and I had to keep reading to find out just what made her tick and just what this magic was all about.”

“A great example of a genre that blends crime drama with fantasy in a modern setting.”
5/5

“The writing was crisp, clear, and had a cracking pace.”

“The author has a great command of the story, she’s in charge and there is nothing unnecessary here.”

“The family politics and drama of Outrageous Fortunes with the supernatural intrigue of the Dresden Files.”

5/5

Read Sample Chapters of on Amazon

Read All the Reviews on Goodreads

The Kingfisher’s Debt purchase via– Amazon Kindle | Goodreads | Book Depository

Close Menu